A practical comparison
Roborock Saros 20 or Saros 20 Flow?
The Roborock Saros 20 and Saros 20 Flow share a 36,000 Pa maximum suction claim, a 6,400 mAh battery, a tank-based multifunction dock and a manufacturer-listed 3.46-inch double-layer threshold maximum. They are not the same cleaning system with different names. The Saros 20 uses two rotating mop pads and StarSight sensing; Flow uses a powered roller continually refreshed by pressurized water and a retracting LDS. Pick by the mechanism and route you actually need, not by the family badge.
First decide which mop routine suits your floors
The standard Saros 20 spins two cloth pads, with Roborock describing an extending mop arm and up to 13 N of downward pressure. It is the direct choice if you want rotating pads and a 3.14-inch body. The Flow’s SpiraFlow 2.0 sends fresh water through 16 outlets across a roller, which turns at up to about 240 rpm and is listed at up to about 15 N of pressure. Its dock returns warm water to the robot after washing; the exact floor-water temperature is not published. The roller adds an onboard dirty-water tank and a channel that require care. The manual lists cleaning as needed and roller replacement every 1–3 months, depending on use.
Both docks claim up to 100°C mop washing. Saros 20 dries with up to 55°C air, while Flow’s FAQ lists 63°C. These are dock figures, not the temperature of water applied during a floor-mop pass. Flow’s manual says to fill the dock with cold tap water; its warm-water refill happens later in the process. Saros 20’s reviewed pages do not give a numeric floor-water temperature. If a particular floor-mop temperature is a deal-breaker, require an exact numeric claim rather than reading one from the pad-wash stage.
Clearance changes the recommendation
The Saros 20 is listed at 3.14 inches high. Its product page discusses limited compression that may let it enter a 3.13-inch opening, with possible scraping; the body dimension is the more useful starting point for a route measurement. Flow’s body is 89.8 mm, about 3.54 inches. A 3.50-inch opening therefore rejects Flow on the listed height, even though its retracting LDS helps it fit beneath more furniture than a tall fixed turret might. Give each robot room above its stated height, especially where fabric or rugs can brush the top.
Both offer up to 3.46 inches for a double-layer threshold. Saros 20’s FAQ specifies a first rise no higher than 1.77 inches, a gap depth greater than 4.72 and no more than 5.51 inches, and a second rise no higher than 1.69 inches. Flow’s exact FAQ states the double-layer maximum and warns that results vary with threshold structure and home. Neither number predicts every single sill, track, rug edge, or approach angle. Measure the route; don’t treat the high combined figure as a universal obstacle guarantee.
Carpet claims are not permission to ignore the manuals
Roborock advertises app-enabled dynamic carpet cleaning up to 1.18 inches for the Saros 20. Its exact US manual still says not to use that robot on high-pile carpet and warns that dark carpets may reduce effectiveness; the manual does not define the boundary behind the marketing figure. Flow’s manual also prohibits high-pile use and warns about dark carpet. Its roller retracts and a cover extends over the mop on carpet, but that feature does not erase the restriction. Neither is a hard match when high-pile carpet coverage is essential.
Compare navigation, setup, and remaining owner tasks
Saros 20’s model FAQ describes StarSight 3D time-of-flight sensing, an RGB camera, and recognition of over 300 obstacle types. Flow uses RetractSense liftable LDS plus structured-light and RGB obstacle detection. Those are not independent avoidance tests; both manuals still advise clearing cords and supervising the first route. Flow’s manual documents 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only. Saros 20’s exact manual instructs app setup but does not state a band, so do not assume the same Wi-Fi fit.
Both docks use removable tanks rather than fixed plumbing and automate dust emptying, mop washing, drying, and water refill. Saros 20 additionally lists dust-bag drying; Flow explicitly lists detergent dispensing. Neither station abolishes tank emptying, bag replacement, tray cleaning, or consumable care. Flow has the more specialized roller and its dirty-water channel; Saros 20 uses rotating cloths but still needs its mops, filter, brushes, and wash tray kept clean. Both manuals say to use cold tap water in the clean-water tank, avoid disinfectant, and use only Roborock-recommended solution.
Short answer
- Choose Saros 20 if dual rotating pads and a lower 3.14-inch profile matter, and its manual limits are acceptable. Do not interpret the 1.18-inch carpet marketing line as an unrestricted high-pile allowance.
- Choose Saros 20 Flow if a continuously rinsed roller is the feature you want, your furniture clears 3.54 inches, and you accept roller, dirty-channel, and tank care plus the 2.4 GHz app requirement.
- Choose neither on a number alone if your essential need is a particular floor-water temperature, guaranteed threshold crossing, high-pile coverage, or measured pickup. Confirm that exact condition against the manual and actual home route.
See the exact Saros 20 review and Saros 20 Flow review before comparing these two configurations with other mop systems.
Where Saros 20 Sonic fits
The Saros 20 Sonic adds a third, distinct choice: one extending VibraRise 5.0 vibrating pad rather than the standard Saros 20's two rotating pads or Flow's powered roller. The manufacturer describes automatic removal of its mop mount for vacuum-only or carpet-first runs. That is not the same as permission to run thick rugs: the Sonic's exact manual still prohibits high-pile carpet and warns on dark carpet.
Sonic's listed body height is 3.14 inches, closer to the standard Saros 20's 3.14 inches than Flow's 3.54 inches. It shares the family's 36,000 Pa maximum suction and conditional double-layer threshold marketing, but those are manufacturer claims, not route or pickup tests. The Sonic offer's exact included dock code is not published in the reviewed U.S. listing, and its manual does not state a Wi-Fi band; avoid selecting it for an essential plumbing or network requirement until the actual SKU/package evidence answers that question. Standard Saros 20 remains the dual-pad choice, while Flow remains the refreshed-roller option with a documented 2.4 GHz-only connection.